A&S Advisors

When you visit 200 Clark Hall, you’ll meet with one or more of the advisors and staff listed here. Get to know your A&S advisor — he or she will be available throughout your time at Alabama to provide advice for managing your academic career as well as resolving any challenges you encounter. Our advisors are here to help, and we’re always happy to listen, to answer questions, and to connect you with the resources you need to be successful.

College of Arts and Sciences Student Services Center

(205) 348-5970
200 Clark Hall
student.services@as.ua.edu

Administrative Staff

Robert Hayes
Assistant Dean and Director of Student Affairs
(205) 348-8506
(205) 348-6204
robert.e.hayes@as.ua.edu

John Wingard
Assistant Director of Student Services
(205) 348-1670
jmwingard@ua.edu

Allison Verhine
Director of College Honors and Endowment Accounts
(205) 348-7009
allison.verhine@ua.edu

Barbara Allen
Office Associate for College Registrars
(205) 348-8546
ballen@as.ua.edu

Pam Derrick
Director of Learning Communities
(205) 348-2099
pwderrick@as.ua.edu

Tim Dillard
College Registrar
(205) 348-8541
tdillard@as.ua.edu

Victoria Dixon-Smith
Office Associate, Front Desk
(205) 348-6671
(205) 348-5970
vldixon@as.ua.edu

Brandi Kizziah
Administrative Secretary
(205) 348-8506
bpkizziah@as.ua.edu

Jeannie Thomley
College Registrar
(205) 348-3748
jthomley@as.ua.edu

Advisors

Wendy McMillian
Director of Academic Advising
(205) 348-7324
wmcmilli@as.ua.edu
Audit areas: music (MUS), political science (PSC)

Maija Braaten
Director of Health Professions Advising
(205) 348-5902
mbraaten@ua.edu

Cindy Channell
Academic Advisor
(205) 348-0419
cchannll@as.ua.edu
Audit areas: foreign language and literature (FLLT), international studies (INST), Spanish (SP)

Matt Chenault
Academic Advisor
(205) 348-0636
jmchenault@as.ua.edu
Audit areas: American studies (AMS), economics (EC), history (HY),  philosophy (PHL)

Marian Denham
Health Professions Advisor
(205) 348-6812
mcdenham@as.ua.edu

Caramyl Drake
Academic Advisor
(205) 348-8545
cdrake@as.ua.edu
Audit areas: communicative disorders (CD), criminal justice (CJ)

Cathy Elliott
Academic Advisor
(205) 348-8543
celliott@as.ua.edu
Audit areas: art (ART), English (EN)

Todd D. Engelhardt
Pre-Law Advisor
(205) 348-1659
todd.d.engelhardt@ua.edu

Denise Gonzalez
Health Professions Advisor
(205) 348-1651
dgonzalez@as.ua.edu
Audit areas: anthropology (ANT), biological sciences (BSC), chemistry (CH), marine science (MS), microbiology (Micro BSC), physics (PH)

Valerie Mills
Health Professions Advisor
(205) 348-1643
vsmills@as.ua.edu
Audit areas: biological sciences (BSC), chemistry (CH), marine science (MS), microbiology (Micro BSC), physics (PH)

Nancy Shockley
Director of Pre-Major Studies
(205) 348-9171
nshockle@as.ua.edu
Audit areas: psychology (PY)